I am Professor of Philosophy and Deputy Director of the COGITO Epistemology Research Centre at the University of Glasgow. I also sit on the Executive Committee of the Aristotelian Society, the Management Committee of the British Society for Theory of Knowledge, the  Steering Committee of the Social Epistemology Network, and on the Editorial Board of the Philosophical Quarterly. I am also a member of the Young Academy of Europe and of the Young Academy of Scotland
I am the winner of the Young Epistemologist Prize 2021.

​I care about all things normative. My research is in epistemology (epistemic norms, social epistemology, knowledge first epistemology), philosophy of language (assertion, conceptual engineering, contextualism), moral & political philosophy (wellbeing, blame, trust, climate justice, distributive justice, voting, media ethics), and feminist philosophy (epistemic injustice, gender concepts).


I am the author of two monographs - 'Shifty Speech and Independent Thought;' (Oxford University Press 2021) and 'Sharing Knowledge' (Cambridge University Press, 2021, with C. Kelp).

I am Principal Investigator on a major 5-year research project - KnowledgeLab: Knowledge-First Social Epistemology - funded by a 1.5 million Euro grant from the European Research Council (2021-2026). I am also Co-Investigator on the Leverhulme Trust-funded 'Virtue Epistemology of Trust' project (GBP 254,871; 2020-2023) and Principal Investigator on the 'Dimensions of Wellbeing' industry-funded project (GBP 680,031; 2021-2026). Before this I held a Mind Fellowship for my 'Epistemic Norms and Epistemic Functions' project. 

Here are my fantastic PhD students: Han Edgoose, Clara Wisenfeld-Paine, Louis Austin-Eames, Paul HampsonYasmeen HindawiPaul IrikefeDaniella Meehan, Ísak Andri Ólafsson, Maria Pia Mendez MatelunaMartin MiragoliShweta PandeyDaniela Rusu, Nina Kojima. Here are my excellent postdocs: Emma C. GordonChristopher Willard-Kyle, Matthew Jope.